By Correspondent

Masvingo City councillors have elected a Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC)ward 4 councillor Alec Tabe (36) as the new Mayor.

He replaced the recalled and history making Shantel Chiwara.

This is Tabe’s second term as a councilor in Masvingo city and he will be deputized by Clr Daniel Mberikunashe.

Mberikunashe is also from CCC.

According to Urban Councils Act Section 29: 15, 30 days after a recall, death or resignation of a Mayor the Town Clerk is empowered to convene a meeting to elect a new mayor.

The newly elected Mayor Tabe dumped ‘money changing’ for council chambers.

He was sworn in on Friday by the acting Town Clerk Vitalis Shonhai .

Tabe defeated Zanu PF women’s quota councillor Sharon Marombedzi.

While he got 10 votes Marombedzi only managed to get 2 votes.

Masvingo City is composed of 10 CCC councillors and 2 Zanu PF councillors.

CCC insiders said of the 10 councilors four had thrown in their names in the hat to be elected mayor.

However, after lengthy deliberations a consensus was reached for Tabe to stand.

In his acceptance speech Tabe said he was humbled by the confidence bestowed on him.

He pledged to unite the local authority to ensure it provides world class services to rate payers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *